Darran Foster
Station Road
Club Overview
Team Kit Colours
Home Kit
Away Kit
Ground Location
Club Twitter
Club Honours
Club Information
Club Name: Long Buckby AFC
Ground: Station Road
Address: Long Buckby,,Northamptonshire
Postcode: NN6 7PL
Twitter: @@LBAFC
Registered Colours:
Registered GK Colours:
Alternative Colours:
Alternative GK Colours:
Secretary: Dave Austin
Secretary Email:
Manager: Darran Foster
Programme Editor: As Secretary
County Affiliation: Northamptonshire County FA
Year Formed: 1945
Record Attendance: 0
Previous Leagues:
Current Division:
Club History

Formerly known as Long Buckby Nomads, the current club was re-formed after the war in 1945 due to the efforts of local hairdresser Bill Ward and others.

There followed many successful seasons in the Rugby and District League and the Northants Football Combination. Notable players during the fifties and sixties were Jack Osbourne, Pete Dexter, Dave Rainsford, Ray Worthington, Derrick Worthington, Cyril Worthington, Bill Dicks, Ray Timbs, Aubrey (Flapper) Wykes, Cracker Wilson, Roy Muscott, Bill Tolley, and many others. The club was ably led at that time by the likes of Alistair Bruce, John Partidge, and Jack Osbourne et al, and supported by probably the best supporters club at our level in the county led by Doreen Timbs, Joyce Worthington, and Barbara Dicks laying the sound financial foundation for the club to progress in later years.

With numerous ground improvements on the Sports Field and the beginnings of a fledgling Sports and Social Club the Bucks gathered a strong enough squad during seasons 1968-69 to apply and be accepted into the United Counties Football League in 1969. Manager at the time was Alan Rose who was to lead the club to more honors in future years. Alan, soon after the club entered the UCL brought in Pete Smith to replace himself as manager.

Under Pete Smith the club went from strength to strength in the next few years. Entering the UCL in what was then division 3 the Bucks were champions in season 1969-70 and gained promotion to division 2 which they won but were refused promotion due to ground facilities. So the next year they won it again (season1971-72) but not into division 1 but into the premier division which the UCL formed that season. Club President at that time was local business man George Taylor of Taylor and KW Coaches. Club secretary was Jock Motion. During that time the club extended their Sports and Social Club by building a large concert room which was opened by the president?s wife Marie Taylor.

During promotion season to the Premier Division the club also won the UCL KO Cup, the Northants Junior Cup, and the Daventry Charity Cup. The club has remained in the UCL Premier Division ever since.

Following Pete Smith as manager was former player Dave Conlonand then Alan Rose again followed by fformer Northampton Town player Roly Mills. Alan then became Manager of the junior teams eventually building a side which was probably the strongest youth side in the county winning many competitions until they finally won the Umbro Cup (a cup sponsored by Umbro which included teams from all over the country at U16?s level). Some of the games were played on Notts Forest?s ground).Notable players from that team who went into higher levels of football were Gary Mills--Nottingham Forest where he won a European Cup medal. Others who have progressed to the Football lague include ,Vince Overson who went on to captain Birmingham City, Mick Kurilla---Birmingham, and Daryl White---Southampton, and more recently Darren Holman, who recently joined Colchester United.

Chris Beckett was next ably assisted by Mick Worthington, In 1983-84 season they finished runners up to Kettering Town in the Northants Senior Cup. The following season the Bucks were pipped at the post for the league title loosing by one point to Arlesey Town but won the UCL KO Cup beating Baldock Town 7-3 on aggregate.

Glenn Burdett was after Chris Beckett and managed the club successfully for 2 years. Mike Emms came next as manager serving for 9 years, the longest spell in the clubs history. During that spell in the nineties the club finished only once in the bottom half of the UCL Prem. During his time the club moved to a new pitch after the Sports Field obtained extra land mainly financed by the club and The Rugby Club along with help from the school and District Council. Also under Mike Emms?s management a new 200 seater Stand?, completely fenced the playing area, and moved and refurbished the floodlights.

After Mike Emms left the Bucks struggled at times to be a force in the UCL Prem and have narrowly avoided relegation on a couple of occasions. Managers since Emms, Ashley Alexander, Steve Renshaw, Kev Simmonds, Geoff Green and Aidy Mann found it difficult to rebuild a strong enough side but all claimed some notable victories and admirably kept the club at its present status.

In january 2007 with a new Chairman Guy Loveland on board, Glenn Botterill was appointed Manager who brought in former Rushden & Diamonds player Andy Peaks as his No 2 , new players were brought in and the Bucks again finished runners up in the UCL Premier Division in 2007-08. Botterill left in January 2009 and was replaced by former Northampton Town player Adam Sandy who was assisted by Matt Murphy. The Bucks won the Northants Senior Cup beating Brackley Town 2-0 and then beat Northampton Town 3-2 to win The NFA Maunsell Cup in July 2009.

Glenn Botterill returned as Manager in January 2010 this time assisted by senior player Matt Green, finishing third in the league and reaching the last sixteen of the FA Vase. In 2010-11 another last 16 in the Vase was achieved and also a fourth place finish in the league. Season 2011-12 saw the Bucks reach Third Qualifying round of FA Cup, losing to Kidsgrove Athletic, before beating well supported Kings Lynn twice to finally win the UCL Premier Division Title.The club also won Baker Perkins Trophy for UCL Highest aggregaae of goal, and Glenn Botterill won UCL Manager of the season.

Following the departure of the Chairman and Management team Scott Goodwin took over, he was followed 12 months later by experienced Phil Mason, who had previously led Woodford United into the Sourten League, like Goodwin he only lasted 12 months, tthe current Manager is Daniel Stewart, assisted by Paul Oddy.

Match Day
Ground: Station Road
Address: Long Buckby,,Northamptonshire
Postcode: NN6 7PL
Admission Prices:
Copyright 2016 - United Counties Football League
Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions